Golden Bears Honored at Alumni Awards

The saying “Once a Golden Bear, Always a Golden Bear’’ is a testament to the unwavering commitment students and alumni have to Western New England University. This profound devotion to the University was on full display at the Alumni Awards event on Monday, June 5, at the Marriott Downtown in Springfield, as four deserving alumni were honored for their dedication, integrity, generosity, and contributions to the WNE community and beyond.

Learn more about our honorees, the event, and view photos at

The Delbridge Family Spirit of Philanthropy Award

This award recognizes the sustained and significant philanthropic service of a WNE graduate over their lifetime. This award is named in honor of Kevin S. Delbridge ’77/H’19, whose extraordinary support over more than 35 years has significantly impacted the WNE student experience, including transforming the delivery of career services and providing scholarships to hundreds of students from Springfield and surrounding communities.

Janet Johnson Bullard ’69

The Michael A. Serafino ’77 Alumnus of the Year Award

The Michael A. Serafino ’77 Alumnus of the Year Award recognizes an alumnus who has displayed an extraordinary commitment to professional achievement, civic responsibility, high personal standards, and to Western New England University in the spirit of knowledge and service. This award has been presented to alumni for over 50 years. In 2022, the award was named in tribute to and in fond remembrance of Michael (Mike) A. Serafino ‘77, who passed away in November 2021. The Michael A. Serafino ’77 Alumnus of the Year Award celebrates Serafino’s legacy and the impact that dedicated Golden Bears like him continue to make on campus and in the community.

John Turgeon ’83

Outstanding Young Alumnus of the Year Awards

This award honors young alumni who have graduated within the last ten years that have demonstrated a commitment to Western New England University and its mission in conjunction with contribution and service to society, or through accomplishment and leadership in their profession.

Laura Madaio ’13
Zeno Temple ’20